News - Coon Headlines SLIAC Award Winners, Claims Player of the Year Hardware

Coon Headlines SLIAC Award Winners, Claims Player of the Year Hardware

Coon Headlines SLIAC Award Winners, Claims Player of the Year Hardware

ST. LOUIS - The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) has announced the 2011 All-Conference Volleyball Team and special award winners.

Greenville College sophomore Corinne Coon, who was last year's Newcomer of the Year, continued her outstanding play in 2011 to earn SLIAC Player of the Year honors. Coon, an opposite hitter, finished second in kills per set, averaging 4.0 kills over 48 sets and 4.3 points per set. She also had the third-best hitting percentage in the SLIAC with a .370 mark.

Westminster College's Megan Boschert, a sophomore, took home Defensive Player of the Year honors. Boschert, a libero, had a conference best 7.05 digs per set with 282 total digs in 40 sets over 12 matches.

Webster University freshman, Jenny Howard, was tabbed the SLIAC Newcomer of the Year. The outside hitter finished fourth in hitting percentage with a .344 mark and sixth in total kills as well as kills per set with 143 kills in 47 sets for a 3.04 kill per set average. 

Principia College's Mary Ann Sprague and Webster University's Merry Graf shared co-Coach of the Year honors, with both coaches earning the honor for the third time. Sprague led Principia to an 11-5 mark in SLIAC play this season. Graf's Webster squad finished tied for first place in the league at 14-2 and claimed their eighth regular season conference championship.

Webster University and Westminster College (Mo.) both received the Sportsmanship Award. It marks the first time that Webster has received the award, and it is the third consecutive year for the Blue Jays. The team Sportsmanship Award is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals for sportsmanship.

The 2011 All-Sportsmanship Team includes freshman Amy Walton (Blackburn), junior Becca Idell (Eureka), senior Anna Hibbeler (Fontbonne), senior Hannah Groves (Greenville), junior Taylor Soat (MacMurray), freshman Savanna Sprague (Principia), senior Carrie Woods (Spalding), senior Gretchen Rieger (Webster) and senior Lisa Priaulx (Westminster).

The 2011 All-SLIAC Teams are as follows:


Corinne Coon, Greenville (So., OH)

Tricia Gall, Greenville (Jr., MB)

Nicole Schaeffer, Greenville (Fr., OH)

Tess Rountree, Principia (Fr., OH)

Alex Marquardt, Spalding (Sr., MH)

Jenny Howard, Webster (Fr., OH)

Gracey Moon, Westminster (Fr., MH)


Kiersten Andersen, Principia (Jr., OH)

Tara Edwards, Principia (Sr., S)

Elisa Burkman, Spalding (Fr., OH)

Caroline Kargus, Webster (Sr., MH)

Emily Ratkewicz, Webster (Fr., MH)

Jordan Vehlewald, Webster (Fr., OH)

Megan Boschert, Westminster (So., DS)


Jessica McClelland, Blackburn (So., OH)

Courtney Kincaid, Eureka (Jr., DS)

Peyton McAtee, Eureka (So., OH)

Anna Hibbeler, Fontbonne (Sr., OH)

Taylor Brunner, Greenville (So, MB)

Ansley Devrieze, Greenville (Jr., OH)

Allison Dietzman, Spalding (Sr., MH)

Allie O'Toole, Webster (Fr., S)

Gretchen Rieger, Webster (Sr., OH)

Alex Berry, Westminster (Jr., OH)

This story was published on November 06, 2011

comments powered by Disqus
315 E. College Avenue
Greenville, Illinois 62246-1145
800.345.4440 / 618.664.7100
Contact Us © 2000-18 Greenville University. All rights reserved.
Greenville University is authorized to operate as a postsecondary educational institution by the Illinois Board of Higher Education
Accreditation | IBHE Complaint Form