News - Doherty and Irvin Headline GC’s SLIAC Award Winners

Doherty and Irvin Headline GC’s SLIAC Award Winners

Doherty and Irvin Headline GC’s SLIAC Award Winners

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) has announced the 2012 All-Conference Softball Team and special award winners. Junior Angie Doherty and senior Brya Irvin were each named Second Team All-SLIAC.

Grabbing All-SLIAC Second Team honors for the second consecutive year is GC junior Angie Doherty. Doherty, a three-year starter at second base, finished sixth in the SLIAC in slugging pct. (.554), second in runs scored (36), ninth in RBI (25), second in homers (8), and fourth in total bases (72).

Centerfielder and utility specialist Irvin was also named SLIAC Second Team for her efforts in 2012. Irvin posted a sixth place finish in runs scored (30) and hits (43), sixth in homeruns (4), eighth in total bases (63), and sixth in stolen bases (13).

Joining Doherty and Irvin in the post-season accolade handouts is sophomore Mattie Fairchild. The shortstop adds to last season’s All-American and First-Team SLIAC honors with a SLIAC Honorable Mention spot in 2012. Fairchild was seventh in the SLIAC in hitting (.350), seventh in on base pct. (.420), and eighth in hits (41).

Eureka College received the Sportsmanship Award for the second time in three years. The team Sportsmanship Award is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by her coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals of sportsmanship.

The 2012 All-Sportsmanship Team includes Mary Chamberlain (Blackburn), Taylor Newby (Eureka), Jessie Pratt (Fontbonne), Darci Sample (Greenville), Beth Boyer (MacMurray), Bekah Charlston (Principia), Liz Schooler (Spalding), Julie Hartung (Webster) and Emily Kesel (Westminster).

The 2012 All-SLIAC Teams are as follows:



P - Kourtney Von Behren, Fontbonne

P - Rena Philpot, Spalding

C - Taylor Martin, Blackburn

1B - Cassi Glixman, Fontbonne

2B - Kelli Dunne, Eureka

3B - Danni Glixman, Fontbonne

SS - Bryana Garcia, Blackburn

OF - Brianna Markel, Blackburn

OF - Shannon Fitzpatrick, Fontbonne

OF - Julie Hartung, Webster

UT - Tia McIntosh, Spalding

AL - Sarah Cerutti, Fontbonne



P - Rachel McCarthy, Fontbonne

P - Ashley Meagher, Webster

C - Samantha Rosner, Fontbonne

1B - Randi Martin, Blackburn

2B - Angie Doherty, Greenville

3B - Tabatha Bahre, Webster

SS - Katie Phillips, Spalding

OF - Brya Irvin, Greenville

OF - Beth Boyer, MacMurray

OF - Danielle LaVenture, Webster

UT - Brittany Lee, Westminster (Mo.)

AL - Trisha Thompson, Webster



AL - Jess Eichholz, Blackburn

AL - Alyssa Akers, Fontbonne

AL - Marissa Simon, Fontbonne

AL - Mattie Fairchild, Greenville

AL - Katy Flanagan, Spalding

AL - Hannah Stucker, Spalding

AL - Kaytlin Burczak, Webster

AL - Taylor Gibbs, Webster

AL - Kristie Konersmann, Webster

AL - Sam Powers, Webster

AL - Kenna Cornelson, Westminster (Mo.)

AL - Emily Kesel, Westminster (Mo.)

AL - Talisha Washington, Westminster (Mo.)

This story was published on May 07, 2012

comments powered by Disqus
315 E. College Avenue
Greenville, Illinois 62246-1145
800.345.4440 / 618.664.7100
Contact Us © 2000-18 Greenville University. All rights reserved.
Greenville University is authorized to operate as a postsecondary educational institution by the Illinois Board of Higher Education
Accreditation | IBHE Complaint Form