Greenville College - Admissions, Transfer, Graduates, Freshman News http://www.greenville.edu/ News Just Out, the RECORD Reimagines "University" http://www.greenville.edu/news/just-out-the-record-reimagines-university Just out, the Fall 2017 RECORD examines the path from college to career. Learn what today's students at Greenville University are doing to gain valuable experience before they graduate. Mon, 09 Oct 2017 10:15:00 CDT 02f96955-b4e1-4293-90da-f9388051c90b Running on Gratitude: Double Thanks for Cross-Country, Grace and Coach P http://www.greenville.edu/news/running-on-gratitude-double-thanks-for-cross-country-grace-and-coach-p "Coach taught me to love God, be confident and remain resilient." Happy fifth anniversary to Greenville University's master's in coaching program, inspired by stories like this one. Mon, 02 Oct 2017 15:00:00 CDT f528f1f9-348f-43b0-803c-4b4d28323bcd Preseason Learning: August Term Takes Freshmen From “Rookie” to “Seasoned” http://www.greenville.edu/news/preseason-learning-august-term-takes-freshmen-from-rookie-to-seasoned This summer, Greenville University launched a pilot program that offers incentives to students who want to overcome educational gaps and succeed at college life. Mon, 18 Sep 2017 15:45:00 CDT 0568c72b-f0a4-49d7-9e8f-14ed83c6f9ac The Exhilaration of "Team" http://www.greenville.edu/news/the-exhilaration-of-team 1944 marked the beginning of intercollegiate athletic competition in Greenville. Ever since, student athletes have made surprising discoveries both on and off the playing field. Here are two tales that began with football. Thu, 10 Aug 2017 13:00:00 CDT a1d3f27b-4863-46e4-a002-df66ccbe79e7 The Gymnasium Boom and The Simple Room http://www.greenville.edu/news/the-gymnasium-boom-and-the-simple-room In 1914, college students banded together to help build a campus gymnasium. Today's students echo that theme of "together" by keeping The Simple Room humming with activity. Take a look at "community" then and now. Mon, 07 Aug 2017 08:15:00 CDT f0a4fe43-2873-4866-8bfa-f34dbed3e211 Euca Balm and Tour Logistics: The Chemistry Behind Those College Degrees http://www.greenville.edu/news/euca-balm-and-tour-logistics-the-chemistry-behind-those-college-degrees From the Great Depression to just last semester, hands-on learning is a hallmark of the Greenville University experience. Check out what happens when experience is the teacher. Thu, 03 Aug 2017 13:45:00 CDT 6dce7714-3373-4a11-8771-1b71782a3a6d Offense, Defense, Character, Class http://www.greenville.edu/news/offense-defense-character-class Nearly 125 years after President Wilson T. Hogue declared education for character as Greenville's motto, the Lady Basketball Panthers made a memorable statement about character and class. Mon, 31 Jul 2017 15:45:00 CDT 17a1e50b-ef29-4e41-be90-b0d1c44c572e A Lesson in Adventure Brought to You By Sally http://www.greenville.edu/news/a-lesson-in-adventure-brought-to-you-by-sally On first glance, Fei “Sally” Li ’16 doesn’t appear adventuresome, but looks can be deceiving. Her bold move to study 7,000 miles from home opened the door to exploration at every turn. Thu, 27 Jul 2017 08:30:00 CDT f9731109-44f8-48a1-bd6f-3bb37ecf1f4d Summer RECORD Celebrates 125 Years of Inspired Innovation http://www.greenville.edu/news/summer-record-celebrates-125-years-of-inspired-innovation Just out, The RECORD features 12 great ideas that have flowed out of our 125-year history. Entitled "Firm Foundation," this issue connects the past with the present. Check it out! Thu, 06 Jul 2017 00:00:00 CDT 75961968-4e2d-4a84-9f9c-edb63eb4baaa Publish, Publish, Present, Present - Well Equipped Grad Finds His Stride http://www.greenville.edu/news/publish-publish-present-present-well-equipped-grad-finds-his-stride Kirk Pearce ’15 recently published papers in two scientific journals and will present at two upcoming conferences for theoretical chemists. The PhD candidate at Virginia Tech has much to say about the preparation he received in the classroom and on the football field at GC. Tue, 16 May 2017 10:00:00 CDT c3949997-d91c-4777-baff-11b9f26b9bff Students' Discovery Draws Interest From International Scientific Community http://www.greenville.edu/news/students-discovery-draws-interest-from-international-scientific-community Student researchers have discovered a potential key to relief for sufferers of neurological disorders. Their work has drawn international attention, including recent publication of their research in The Journal of Experimental Neuroscience. Thu, 13 Apr 2017 10:00:00 CDT 881d6c76-88b7-4fae-8dc7-2e90ea13f828 Give Big to the Pig: The Fresh Face of Philanthropy http://www.greenville.edu/news/give-big-to-the-pig-the-fresh-face-of-philanthropy "We aren't looking for a few students to donate a lot; we're looking for a lot of students to donate a little." With this goal, six seniors personally distributed 500 piggy banks last semester to fellow students as part of a senior capstone project to educate their peers about personal stewardship. Fri, 17 Mar 2017 07:30:00 CDT afb6e7b9-4fed-46ce-9d6b-a153890e0b51 One-Year MBA Program Adds to International Growth at GC http://www.greenville.edu/news/one-year-mba-program-adds-to-international-growth-at-gc Students in GC’s new one-year residential MBA program are among the international students on campus this semester. Read more to learn the surprising impact they may have on your cognitive skills. Mon, 06 Mar 2017 09:45:00 CST c2f752cf-4409-4b61-95fd-9b3d86aa3fca Be Our Guest: Personal Connection Drives Enrollment http://www.greenville.edu/news/be-our-guest-personal-connection-drives-enrollment When Karl Hatton assumed duties as dean of admissions at Greenville College last year, he stepped into a lion's den . . . so why is he smiling now? Thu, 02 Mar 2017 09:15:00 CST 96c4ed4b-75d9-44c3-b1dc-1d7c9a2d6d1e Greenville College Welcomes New Faculty Members http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-welcomes-new-faculty-members Greenville College is pleased to introduce four new faculty members hired in recent months! Tue, 21 Feb 2017 08:30:00 CST bd72a117-d295-43a1-8bc8-0ed2fbf969b2 Inspired Learning in the Classroom and Beyond: Winter 2017 RECORD Now Out http://www.greenville.edu/news/inspired-learning-in-the-classroom-and-beyond Greenville College has entered its final stretch toward formal recognition as Greenville University, and the President’s Report edition of The RECORD, just out, highlights memorable events from GC's last year as a college. Wed, 15 Feb 2017 09:00:00 CST bc4fac6e-0288-432d-b4ba-3aaeb0e7a3fa Alumnus Sculptor James Mellick Claims $200,000 Grand Prize http://www.greenville.edu/news/alumnus-sculptor-james-mellick-claims-200-000-grand-prize "Running solely on adrenalin" is how alumnus and wood sculptor James Mellick described his experience at ArtPrize 2016, where his allegories in wood, "Wounded Warrior Dogs," earned the $200,000 People's Choice Award. Tue, 14 Feb 2017 07:45:00 CST 85d1fc69-55c4-4e5d-a836-23c3561c318f From Spielberg to Skiing: Innovative Learning at Interterm http://www.greenville.edu/news/from-spielberg-to-skiing-innovative-learning-at-interterm Here’s a sampling of Interterm 2017’s most unusual and exciting classes. Tue, 24 Jan 2017 19:30:00 CST c6e7624d-e759-4134-9c39-1b53a4b6c597 Future Teachers Benefit from GC's Stretch http://www.greenville.edu/news/future-teachers-benefit-from-gcs-stretch For more than a century, GC has thoroughly prepared teachers for service in the classroom. Here are five new ways that future teachers can benefit from the School of Education's extended reach. Tue, 10 Jan 2017 15:15:00 CST 110f1756-b1a9-4449-a60d-482364e4daf3 Federal Agency Donates Lab Instruments to GC Sciences http://www.greenville.edu/news/federal-agency-donates-lab-instruments-to-gc-sciences The U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration’s Chicago lab has donated scientific instruments valued at $300,000 to Greenville College for use in its science labs. Thu, 05 Jan 2017 06:30:00 CST 35ab8482-a317-4f6a-ad8e-9dfeacd57574 Students Exceed Expectations Putting Experience First http://www.greenville.edu/news/students-exceed-expectations-putting-experience-first Students went above and beyond earlier this month when they wrapped up their work for the inaugural session of Experience First at Greenville College. The students' showing gave Dean Suzanne Davis good reason for calling it "the best day ever" of her professional career. Mon, 19 Dec 2016 16:30:00 CST 77b7fc1c-3de1-43d5-9af6-92375e163d55 Giving Tuesday, Full of Grace http://www.greenville.edu/news/giving-tuesday-full-of-grace Financial champions of Greenville College gave new meaning to the children's verse that says,"Tuesday's child is full of grace." Their gracious generosity on Giving Tuesday overflowed in a big way to fund scholarships. Wed, 30 Nov 2016 13:30:00 CST 97d1b8e2-b6f6-4ecc-a78b-e6f9287f8265 Greenville College Formally Recognizes Andrews Chair http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-formally-recognizes-andrews-chair “Turning a triple play” is the analogy Professor Brian Hartley used to recognize the Andrews Endowed Chair for Christian Unity. The fully-funded chair provides for robust programming in the Bastian School. Fri, 11 Nov 2016 06:45:00 CST e53ddf97-c9d6-4bfa-beca-a75ad5b0c3aa Set Goal, Plan, Achieve, Repeat http://www.greenville.edu/news/set-goal-plan-achieve-repeat What's with that inner voice that rouses us out of complacency and urges us to try something new? Alyssa Schmidt's "can-do" back-to-school story may be all you need to take that next step toward career-advancement. Wed, 26 Oct 2016 14:15:00 CDT 1a761e25-e4ff-4c99-b153-8d965f55261d Victor Shepherd Joins the Greenville College Board of Trustees http://www.greenville.edu/news/victor-shepherd-joins-the-greenville-college-board-of-trustees In its forthcoming meeting on November 3, 2016, the Greenville College Board of Trustees will welcome Professor Victor Shepherd to its ranks. He is a Presbyterian minister, theology professor and author. Wed, 19 Oct 2016 13:00:00 CDT db81e801-8a40-4598-bfff-fa861ea403d2