Greenville College - Admissions, Transfer, Graduates, Freshman News http://www.greenville.edu/ News Give Big to the Pig: The Fresh Face of Philanthropy http://www.greenville.edu/news/give-big-to-the-pig-the-fresh-face-of-philanthropy "We aren't looking for a few students to donate a lot; we're looking for a lot of students to donate a little." With this goal, six seniors personally distributed 500 piggy banks last semester to fellow students as part of a senior capstone project to educate their peers about personal stewardship. Fri, 17 Mar 2017 07:30:00 CDT afb6e7b9-4fed-46ce-9d6b-a153890e0b51 One-Year MBA Program Adds to International Growth at GC http://www.greenville.edu/news/one-year-mba-program-adds-to-international-growth-at-gc Students in GC’s new one-year residential MBA program are among the international students on campus this semester. Read more to learn the surprising impact they may have on your cognitive skills. Mon, 06 Mar 2017 09:45:00 CST c2f752cf-4409-4b61-95fd-9b3d86aa3fca Be Our Guest: Personal Connection Drives Enrollment http://www.greenville.edu/news/be-our-guest-personal-connection-drives-enrollment When Karl Hatton assumed duties as dean of admissions at Greenville College last year, he stepped into a lion's den . . . so why is he smiling now? Thu, 02 Mar 2017 09:15:00 CST 96c4ed4b-75d9-44c3-b1dc-1d7c9a2d6d1e Greenville College Welcomes New Faculty Members http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-welcomes-new-faculty-members Greenville College is pleased to introduce four new faculty members hired in recent months! Tue, 21 Feb 2017 08:30:00 CST bd72a117-d295-43a1-8bc8-0ed2fbf969b2 Inspired Learning in the Classroom and Beyond: Winter 2017 RECORD Now Out http://www.greenville.edu/news/inspired-learning-in-the-classroom-and-beyond Greenville College has entered its final stretch toward formal recognition as Greenville University, and the President’s Report edition of The RECORD, just out, highlights memorable events from GC's last year as a college. Wed, 15 Feb 2017 09:00:00 CST bc4fac6e-0288-432d-b4ba-3aaeb0e7a3fa Alumnus Sculptor James Mellick Claims $200,000 Grand Prize http://www.greenville.edu/news/alumnus-sculptor-james-mellick-claims-200-000-grand-prize "Running solely on adrenalin" is how alumnus and wood sculptor James Mellick described his experience at ArtPrize 2016, where his allegories in wood, "Wounded Warrior Dogs," earned the $200,000 People's Choice Award. Tue, 14 Feb 2017 07:45:00 CST 85d1fc69-55c4-4e5d-a836-23c3561c318f From Spielberg to Skiing: Innovative Learning at Interterm http://www.greenville.edu/news/from-spielberg-to-skiing-innovative-learning-at-interterm Here’s a sampling of Interterm 2017’s most unusual and exciting classes. Tue, 24 Jan 2017 19:30:00 CST c6e7624d-e759-4134-9c39-1b53a4b6c597 Engineering at GC and Thoughts on the Divine Engineer http://www.greenville.edu/news/engineering-at-gc-and-thoughts-on-the-divine-engineer With the inaugural semester of engineering at GC successfully behind us, what better time to pause and recognize the team and inspiration behind this exciting new program? Wed, 18 Jan 2017 08:30:00 CST 3e253e6b-33cd-45af-8fa3-6b91d52045a2 Future Teachers Benefit from GC's Stretch http://www.greenville.edu/news/future-teachers-benefit-from-gcs-stretch For more than a century, GC has thoroughly prepared teachers for service in the classroom. Here are five new ways that future teachers can benefit from the School of Education's extended reach. Tue, 10 Jan 2017 15:15:00 CST 110f1756-b1a9-4449-a60d-482364e4daf3 Federal Agency Donates Lab Instruments to GC Sciences http://www.greenville.edu/news/federal-agency-donates-lab-instruments-to-gc-sciences The U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration’s Chicago lab has donated scientific instruments valued at $300,000 to Greenville College for use in its science labs. Thu, 05 Jan 2017 06:30:00 CST 35ab8482-a317-4f6a-ad8e-9dfeacd57574 Students Exceed Expectations Putting Experience First http://www.greenville.edu/news/students-exceed-expectations-putting-experience-first Students went above and beyond earlier this month when they wrapped up their work for the inaugural session of Experience First at Greenville College. The students' showing gave Dean Suzanne Davis good reason for calling it "the best day ever" of her professional career. Mon, 19 Dec 2016 16:30:00 CST 77b7fc1c-3de1-43d5-9af6-92375e163d55 Giving Tuesday, Full of Grace http://www.greenville.edu/news/giving-tuesday-full-of-grace Financial champions of Greenville College gave new meaning to the children's verse that says,"Tuesday's child is full of grace." Their gracious generosity on Giving Tuesday overflowed in a big way to fund scholarships. Wed, 30 Nov 2016 13:30:00 CST 97d1b8e2-b6f6-4ecc-a78b-e6f9287f8265 Greenville College Formally Recognizes Andrews Chair http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-formally-recognizes-andrews-chair “Turning a triple play” is the analogy Professor Brian Hartley used to recognize the Andrews Endowed Chair for Christian Unity. The fully-funded chair provides for robust programming in the Bastian School. Fri, 11 Nov 2016 06:45:00 CST e53ddf97-c9d6-4bfa-beca-a75ad5b0c3aa Set Goal, Plan, Achieve, Repeat http://www.greenville.edu/news/set-goal-plan-achieve-repeat What's with that inner voice that rouses us out of complacency and urges us to try something new? Alyssa Schmidt's "can-do" back-to-school story may be all you need to take that next step toward career-advancement. Wed, 26 Oct 2016 14:15:00 CDT 1a761e25-e4ff-4c99-b153-8d965f55261d Victor Shepherd Joins the Greenville College Board of Trustees http://www.greenville.edu/news/victor-shepherd-joins-the-greenville-college-board-of-trustees In its forthcoming meeting on November 3, 2016, the Greenville College Board of Trustees will welcome Professor Victor Shepherd to its ranks. He is a Presbyterian minister, theology professor and author. Wed, 19 Oct 2016 13:00:00 CDT db81e801-8a40-4598-bfff-fa861ea403d2 Celebrating 125 Years of Embracing God's Call http://www.greenville.edu/news/celebrating-125-years-of-embracing-god-s-call Just out, GC's Fall RECORD celebrates 125 years of divine call and response at Greenville College with a collection of personal accounts. Check them out! Thu, 13 Oct 2016 11:00:00 CDT 733e9f43-7b8d-4e8d-a344-196d267400e6 Follow Me: Inspiring Students to Embrace God's Call http://www.greenville.edu/news/follow-me-inspiring-students-to-embrace-god-s-call Our college community launched the 2016-17 school year with a chapel service that focused on the many way our Lord woos and captivates us with his Call. The RECORD, just released, focuses on inspired call, too. Mon, 10 Oct 2016 00:00:00 CDT 2a2040a5-b33d-4b3e-a0f7-1fbbeccfc4d3 Back to School Just a Little Later in Life: Five Keys to Making It Work http://www.greenville.edu/news/back-to-school-just-a-little-later-in-life-five-keys-to-make-it-work Lori Sadler describes her life as smooth sailing before that great disruptor "merger" threatened her employment picture. Read how changes at A.G. Edwards moved this working mother of two to sharpen her competitive edge and turn "back-to-school" into an opportunity for professional networking and showcasing her leadership skills. Tue, 20 Sep 2016 16:45:00 CDT 538b2ffb-5a37-415d-8b0a-c0fd487c4ce1 Magazine Features Innovation in the Sciences at Greenville College http://www.greenville.edu/news/magazine-features-innovation-in-the-sciences-at-greenville-college The innovative efforts of professors Hyung Choi and Dongxue Zhao to restore and renovate equipment in science labs on campus were recently featured in the August issue of Private University Products and News (PUPN) Magazine. Mon, 12 Sep 2016 09:00:00 CDT 4f0bc83c-c9a4-4cf3-9b73-66b8eb330646 Growing a Business by Degrees http://www.greenville.edu/news/growing-a-business-by-degrees Meet horticulturist Jeremiah Godby, owner of G & C Precision Landscapes and recent graduate of GC's MBA program. Godby met his educational and business goals at the same time by converting coursework into increased revenues for his business. Here's how he did it. Wed, 24 Aug 2016 06:00:00 CDT 6a48d04b-4ade-43f6-8707-5fdf21c1a5dc Author Howard A. Snyder to Speak at College Convocation http://www.greenville.edu/news/author-howard-a-snyder-to-speak-at-college-convocation Greenville College begins its 2016-17 academic year with a convocation ceremony on Wednesday, August 31, at 9:30 a.m. in Whitlock Music Center on campus. Renowned author and Greenville College alumnus Dr. Howard A. Snyder will deliver a message titled “Jesus and the Earth.” Tue, 09 Aug 2016 12:00:00 CDT adde41d4-b905-4c45-9bda-f05d6467a0b5 Alumnus Damon Receives Highest Honors as Hymn Writer http://www.greenville.edu/news/alumnus-damon-receives-highest-honors-as-hymn-writer It's hard to explain the nuts and bolts of inspiration. For Pastor Dan Damon '77, memories stirred when one of his parishioners talked "shop." Creativity followed. Mon, 08 Aug 2016 10:45:00 CDT b1acc01c-5248-4cbe-93b0-88e3b102ab5f Alumna Nicole (Tucker) Crites Named Grocery Industry's Rising Star http://www.greenville.edu/news/alumna-nicole-tucker-crites-named-grocery-industry-s-rising-star GC alumna Nicole (Tucker '08) Crites was recently named a rising star in the grocery industry. Progressive Grocer included the financial analyst on its 2016 list of Top Women in Grocery. Wed, 27 Jul 2016 08:45:00 CDT 29a5b691-1897-4d9a-b6b4-4b7ddfd2430b Greenville College Ranked Among 20 Most Affordable Online MBA Programs - No GMAT Required http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-ranked-among-20-most-affordable-online-mba-programs-no-gmat-required Greenville College has been ranked among the 20 most affordable online Master of Business Administration (MBA) programs with no Graduate Managment Admission Test (GMAT) required by Best Value MBA. The ranking was published on the organization's website in July. Tue, 26 Jul 2016 13:00:00 CDT 5a154551-9839-4b5e-900d-0b87ea79b5ad New Identity, Same Tradition http://www.greenville.edu/news/new-identity-same-tradition Simple, distinct, memorable, timeless—no, we're not talking about fashion inspired by Audrey Hepburn here; we're talking about GC's new logo. As Greenville College approaches its official transition in identity to Greenville University in 2017, we've updated our logo's look. Here's a sneak peek! Tue, 26 Jul 2016 10:45:00 CDT 86646d76-b607-4671-b251-620f30bb5d0a The Vista - Spring 2016 http://www.greenville.edu/news/the-vista-spring-2016 Check out the Spring 2016 edition of The Vista, GC's award-winning student publication. Wed, 20 Jul 2016 14:45:00 CDT 791d63f1-baba-473e-ae67-2c6a37f68d90 ENCORE-The Spotlight Shines on Factory Theatre Alumni http://www.greenville.edu/news/encore Alumni of Factory Theatre productions at Greenville College keep busy and productive on stages from Florida to California as actors, directors, designers, educators and more. Here's a sampling of GC's influence on stage and behind the scenes. Wed, 20 Jul 2016 09:45:00 CDT e2af77b4-a54c-4022-916a-143b1a047aff GC Students Secure Competitive Science Research Internships http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-students-secure-competitive-science-research-internships Learn about Greenville students who were awarded coveted internships with some of the world's leading research entities in physics and quantum engineering. Thu, 14 Jul 2016 10:30:00 CDT 90d86f98-3f94-4362-841e-7cda28030d93 Summer RECORD Tips Its Hat to GC Adventurers http://www.greenville.edu/news/summer-record-tips-a-hat-to-gc-adventurers Summer invites thoughts of travel. What better time than a lazy summer afternoon to read about adventures in distant places, especially when the adventurers are folks we know? Thu, 30 Jun 2016 13:00:00 CDT ed9470d1-bd6e-4070-a25d-b8d5bc8dc105 Quantum Leap http://www.greenville.edu/news/quantum-leap-curiosity-fuels-discovery-on-three-continents-for-student-researcher Curiosity fueled discovery on three continents for recent graduate Shuto Osawa. From his home in Northern Japan to GC to Vienna and now Boston, Osawa's scholarship knows no bounds. Wed, 29 Jun 2016 06:00:00 CDT 7af78669-fbf3-4a92-9205-6620d59b9f44 Embracing God's Calling http://www.greenville.edu/news/embracing-god-s-calling Greenville College’s vision is to inspire students to embrace God’s calling for their lives. Through her liberal arts education at GC, senior Kayla Hyde knows exactly what her career calling is: research. Tue, 07 Jun 2016 14:00:00 CDT 829e46f5-f3aa-49a0-9cc2-bb3ec02086b9 Lest We Forget: New Grad Jogs Memories for Buchheit Stores http://www.greenville.edu/news/lest-we-forget-new-gc-grad-jogs-memor A girl who throws tomahawks, a fire that levels a five-story building and the threat of amnesia all weave their way into Katie Schmierbach's story of how she recently landed a job. Thu, 26 May 2016 07:30:00 CDT fab3f860-7b9e-4ce3-a7cf-a09cd2dc7180 GC Jazz Band Concert on Tuesday, May 10th http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-jazz-band-performance-on-tuesday-may-10th The GC Jazz Band’s final on-campus performance is Tuesday, May 10th at 7 pm in the Whitlock Music Center. Mon, 09 May 2016 10:00:00 CDT 6d49da79-839a-4571-b078-2f8f735b4f72 Sixth Annual Mother’s Day Concert on Sunday, May 8, 2016 at 4 pm http://www.greenville.edu/news/sixth-annual-mother-s-day-concert-on-sunday-may-8-2016-at-4-pm The Greenville College Concert Band will present its sixth annual Mother’s Day Concert on Sunday, May 8, 2016 at 4 pm in the Whitlock Music Center, Fri, 06 May 2016 12:00:00 CDT 18a68e8c-a6d7-4346-b7e1-d434bb937613 Music Business Major Prepares Students for Life After College http://www.greenville.edu/news/the-music-business-major-prepares-students-for-life-after-college As music and music consumption are becoming increasingly digitized, methods for finding, producing and marketing are changing. Greenville College Music Business Professor, Danara Moore observes, “It’s very important in this business to be ready for anything, which is why we focus so much on experience and entrepreneurship." Fri, 06 May 2016 08:00:00 CDT 645aaacd-137d-4ff0-b51e-ea8bb2ac5368 St. Louis Blues Score Big as Job Shadow Hosts http://www.greenville.edu/news/st-louis-blues-score-big-as-job-shadow-hosts When the St. Louis Blues take to the ice for the next round of the Stanley Cup playoffs, at least one fan on the Greenville College campus can say he knows firsthand what it takes for the winning NHL franchise to produce a game. Fri, 29 Apr 2016 09:00:00 CDT e3960d30-00e3-4323-80da-4c6c1577f63b University Pathways Welcomes New Director of Student Services http://www.greenville.edu/news/university-pathways-welcomes-new-director Greenville College University Pathways program welcomes a new Director of Student Services, Dr. Kang Sun. With a passion for higher education and serving others, Dr. Sun looks forward to continually helping international students find a home at GC. Mon, 18 Apr 2016 08:00:00 CDT 143b64e1-28fc-49f8-9d8a-6476112c7177 GC Alumnus Creates Successful New Video Game http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-alumnus-creates-successful-new-video-game As Greenville College launches promising new Game Design and Development Track, GC graduate Kris Truitt releases new and successful video game "Master Spy." GC empowers students to reach their full potential and make a difference in every area of life, including digital media. Thu, 31 Mar 2016 08:00:00 CDT f554c4c1-7813-4c86-a449-0a631a7a9ef1