Greenville College - Academics News http://www.greenville.edu/ News GC Faculty Assume Lead Roles at Annual Wesleyan Conference http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-faculty-assume-lead-roles-at-annual-wesleyan-conference On March 2-4, faculty members of the Donald N. and Kathleen G. Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry contributed to the Wesleyan Theological Society's annual conference at Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky. Tue, 18 Apr 2017 08:00:00 CDT 758c55ab-a49c-45fd-a375-4516dc59c9d3 Students' Discovery Draws Interest From International Scientific Community http://www.greenville.edu/news/students-discovery-draws-interest-from-international-scientific-community Student researchers have discovered a potential key to relief for sufferers of neurological disorders. Their work has drawn international attention, including recent publication of their research in The Journal of Experimental Neuroscience. Thu, 13 Apr 2017 10:00:00 CDT 881d6c76-88b7-4fae-8dc7-2e90ea13f828 College’s Creative Hub Expands With Opening Of Center For Visual Culture http://www.greenville.edu/news/college-s-creative-hub-expands-with-opening-of-center-for-visual-culture Creativity and collaboration at Greenville College have a new home on campus with the official opening of the Center for Visual Culture and Media Studies (CVCMS). Guests at the ribbon cutting ceremony March 28 toured the refurbished work and office spaces in the Kaufmann Building on College Avenue. Wed, 05 Apr 2017 08:00:00 CDT c14e655f-2eae-4444-832c-0c91d5eaece7 Media and Theology Mix it Up on Campus http://www.greenville.edu/news/media-and-theology-mix-it-up-on-campus Faculty from the Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry at Greenville College recently teamed up with faculty from the College’s Media Communication Department to present an engaging interdisciplinary approach to theology. Wed, 29 Mar 2017 08:00:00 CDT 00339b09-b87c-4182-bd95-ad82cd439444 Booklover Lands Job Reading for a Living http://www.greenville.edu/news/booklover-lands-job-reading-for-a-living “Reading books for a living? If that ever becomes a job, I’ll do it!” Kortney Price ’14 remembers thinking as an undergraduate. Three years after graduation, Kortney got her wish. Thu, 23 Mar 2017 07:00:00 CDT 052ac51c-dfad-4414-a6cb-decb9c80cf98 Wayman Publishes Article for Lenten Study http://www.greenville.edu/news/wayman-publishes-article-for-lenten-study Ben Wayman ’02 assistant professor of philosophy and theology in the Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry and this year’s Andrews Fellow in Christian Unity, has authored an article that is featured in the spring curriculum quarterly Illustrated Bible Life Tue, 14 Mar 2017 08:15:00 CDT 42d50632-e8f7-4d6d-9c0e-3111a5a9ac29 One-Year MBA Program Adds to International Growth at GC http://www.greenville.edu/news/one-year-mba-program-adds-to-international-growth-at-gc Students in GC’s new one-year residential MBA program are among the international students on campus this semester. Read more to learn the surprising impact they may have on your cognitive skills. Mon, 06 Mar 2017 09:45:00 CST c2f752cf-4409-4b61-95fd-9b3d86aa3fca Jesus, Master, Teacher, and the MBA http://www.greenville.edu/news/jesus-master-teacher-and-the-mba Enrollment is at a historic high in GC’s graduate management programs where faith and career mix. Tue, 28 Feb 2017 09:00:00 CST 66b4afea-9df6-42e4-8aa6-87c64622604a Greenville College Welcomes New Faculty Members http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-welcomes-new-faculty-members Greenville College is pleased to introduce four new faculty members hired in recent months! Tue, 21 Feb 2017 08:30:00 CST bd72a117-d295-43a1-8bc8-0ed2fbf969b2 Satisfied Businesses Turn to GC’s “Experience First” Program Again http://www.greenville.edu/news/satisfied-businesses-turn-to-gc-s-experience-first-program-again Following a stellar launch in fall 2016, the Experience First initiative spearheaded by the Briner School of Business offers a new batch of students the chance to gain real-world experience and networking during second semester. Thu, 09 Feb 2017 09:00:00 CST 472e44d2-68ef-4cfd-879d-54b864cec3ae National Assessment Reflects Solid Preparation for Future Teachers http://www.greenville.edu/news/national-assessment-reflects-solid-preparation-for-future-teachers The credentials and employability of GC students preparing to be teachers have received a boost with a new state requirement. Their performance testifies to GC's strong teacher education program. Tue, 07 Feb 2017 09:00:00 CST e9af4fc6-c39d-4e98-b00a-ae40ba318d75 From Spielberg to Skiing: Innovative Learning at Interterm http://www.greenville.edu/news/from-spielberg-to-skiing-innovative-learning-at-interterm Here’s a sampling of Interterm 2017’s most unusual and exciting classes. Tue, 24 Jan 2017 19:30:00 CST c6e7624d-e759-4134-9c39-1b53a4b6c597 Engineering at GC and Thoughts on the Divine Engineer http://www.greenville.edu/news/engineering-at-gc-and-thoughts-on-the-divine-engineer With the inaugural semester of engineering at GC successfully behind us, what better time to pause and recognize the team and inspiration behind this exciting new program? Wed, 18 Jan 2017 08:30:00 CST 3e253e6b-33cd-45af-8fa3-6b91d52045a2 Future Teachers Benefit from GC's Stretch http://www.greenville.edu/news/future-teachers-benefit-from-gcs-stretch For more than a century, GC has thoroughly prepared teachers for service in the classroom. Here are five new ways that future teachers can benefit from the School of Education's extended reach. Tue, 10 Jan 2017 15:15:00 CST 110f1756-b1a9-4449-a60d-482364e4daf3 Federal Agency Donates Lab Instruments to GC Sciences http://www.greenville.edu/news/federal-agency-donates-lab-instruments-to-gc-sciences The U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration’s Chicago lab has donated scientific instruments valued at $300,000 to Greenville College for use in its science labs. Thu, 05 Jan 2017 06:30:00 CST 35ab8482-a317-4f6a-ad8e-9dfeacd57574 GC Teaching Character Plus http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-teaching-character-plus Character education programs have been springing up in schools around the country in recent years. Learn how GC is leading this effort! Tue, 03 Jan 2017 02:00:00 CST b6705c2a-417a-4124-8649-d47e5cbaf565 Students Exceed Expectations Putting Experience First http://www.greenville.edu/news/students-exceed-expectations-putting-experience-first Students went above and beyond earlier this month when they wrapped up their work for the inaugural session of Experience First at Greenville College. The students' showing gave Dean Suzanne Davis good reason for calling it "the best day ever" of her professional career. Mon, 19 Dec 2016 16:30:00 CST 77b7fc1c-3de1-43d5-9af6-92375e163d55 GC Announces “Experience First” Educational Initiative http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-announces-experience-first-educational-initiative This fall, Greenville College introduced the Experience First educational initiative to bring real-world problem solving into the classroom. Mon, 12 Dec 2016 12:30:00 CST 7dd1c642-c28b-4607-8147-cccf4f625cce Greenville College Receives 2017 Military Friendly School Award http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-receives-2017-military-friendly-school-award Greenville College is honored to receive the title of a 2017 Military Friendly School by Victory Media, the leader in connecting the military and civilian worlds. Wed, 16 Nov 2016 08:00:00 CST 2e3d98bb-f927-47fe-96a7-099ce127bd94 Greenville College Formally Recognizes Andrews Chair http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-formally-recognizes-andrews-chair “Turning a triple play” is the analogy Professor Brian Hartley used to recognize the Andrews Endowed Chair for Christian Unity. The fully-funded chair provides for robust programming in the Bastian School. Fri, 11 Nov 2016 06:45:00 CST e53ddf97-c9d6-4bfa-beca-a75ad5b0c3aa Greenville College Ranked in Top 10 Online Colleges in Illinois http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-ranked-in-top-10-online-colleges-in-illinois Greenville College is proud to announce that the institution was ranked as one of the Top 10 Best Online Colleges in Illinois by Affordable Colleges Online. Sun, 06 Nov 2016 12:45:00 CST 93a48e3a-301f-478a-bda3-648c85b2c8f8 Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry Formally Launched http://www.greenville.edu/news/bastian-school-of-theology-philosophy-and-ministry-formally-launched The Greenville College Department of Philosophy and Theology formally transitioned into the Donald N. and Kathleen G. Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry with a dedication and ribbon cutting ceremony that took place October 5. Tue, 01 Nov 2016 16:00:00 CDT 871ce4e8-8f9c-41f7-aaa7-fc0513c406a6 Set Goal, Plan, Achieve, Repeat http://www.greenville.edu/news/set-goal-plan-achieve-repeat What's with that inner voice that rouses us out of complacency and urges us to try something new? Alyssa Schmidt's "can-do" back-to-school story may be all you need to take that next step toward career-advancement. Wed, 26 Oct 2016 14:15:00 CDT 1a761e25-e4ff-4c99-b153-8d965f55261d Victor Shepherd Joins the Greenville College Board of Trustees http://www.greenville.edu/news/victor-shepherd-joins-the-greenville-college-board-of-trustees In its forthcoming meeting on November 3, 2016, the Greenville College Board of Trustees will welcome Professor Victor Shepherd to its ranks. He is a Presbyterian minister, theology professor and author. Wed, 19 Oct 2016 13:00:00 CDT db81e801-8a40-4598-bfff-fa861ea403d2 Back to School Just a Little Later in Life: Five Keys to Making It Work http://www.greenville.edu/news/back-to-school-just-a-little-later-in-life-five-keys-to-make-it-work Lori Sadler describes her life as smooth sailing before that great disruptor "merger" threatened her employment picture. Read how changes at A.G. Edwards moved this working mother of two to sharpen her competitive edge and turn "back-to-school" into an opportunity for professional networking and showcasing her leadership skills. Tue, 20 Sep 2016 16:45:00 CDT 538b2ffb-5a37-415d-8b0a-c0fd487c4ce1 Magazine Features Innovation in the Sciences at Greenville College http://www.greenville.edu/news/magazine-features-innovation-in-the-sciences-at-greenville-college The innovative efforts of professors Hyung Choi and Dongxue Zhao to restore and renovate equipment in science labs on campus were recently featured in the August issue of Private University Products and News (PUPN) Magazine. Mon, 12 Sep 2016 09:00:00 CDT 4f0bc83c-c9a4-4cf3-9b73-66b8eb330646 Announcing The Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry http://www.greenville.edu/news/announcing-the-bastian-school-of-philosophy-theology-and Greenville College is pleased to announce its launch of the Donald N. and Kathleen G. Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy and Ministry. President Ivan Filby called the school an exciting and important development for Greenville College. Wed, 31 Aug 2016 20:30:00 CDT 7b40e787-57c2-42b6-9cf7-341bb0b5822e Growing a Business by Degrees http://www.greenville.edu/news/growing-a-business-by-degrees Meet horticulturist Jeremiah Godby, owner of G & C Precision Landscapes and recent graduate of GC's MBA program. Godby met his educational and business goals at the same time by converting coursework into increased revenues for his business. Here's how he did it. Wed, 24 Aug 2016 06:00:00 CDT 6a48d04b-4ade-43f6-8707-5fdf21c1a5dc Author Howard A. Snyder to Speak at College Convocation http://www.greenville.edu/news/author-howard-a-snyder-to-speak-at-college-convocation Greenville College begins its 2016-17 academic year with a convocation ceremony on Wednesday, August 31, at 9:30 a.m. in Whitlock Music Center on campus. Renowned author and Greenville College alumnus Dr. Howard A. Snyder will deliver a message titled “Jesus and the Earth.” Tue, 09 Aug 2016 12:00:00 CDT adde41d4-b905-4c45-9bda-f05d6467a0b5 Greenville College Ranked Among 20 Most Affordable Online MBA Programs - No GMAT Required http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-ranked-among-20-most-affordable-online-mba-programs-no-gmat-required Greenville College has been ranked among the 20 most affordable online Master of Business Administration (MBA) programs with no Graduate Managment Admission Test (GMAT) required by Best Value MBA. The ranking was published on the organization's website in July. Tue, 26 Jul 2016 13:00:00 CDT 5a154551-9839-4b5e-900d-0b87ea79b5ad New Identity, Same Tradition http://www.greenville.edu/news/new-identity-same-tradition Simple, distinct, memorable, timeless—no, we're not talking about fashion inspired by Audrey Hepburn here; we're talking about GC's new logo. As Greenville College approaches its official transition in identity to Greenville University in 2017, we've updated our logo's look. Here's a sneak peek! Tue, 26 Jul 2016 10:45:00 CDT 86646d76-b607-4671-b251-620f30bb5d0a The Vista - Spring 2016 http://www.greenville.edu/news/the-vista-spring-2016 Check out the Spring 2016 edition of The Vista, GC's award-winning student publication. Wed, 20 Jul 2016 14:45:00 CDT 791d63f1-baba-473e-ae67-2c6a37f68d90 Equipped, Experienced and Confident http://www.greenville.edu/news/equipped-experienced-and-confident Greenville's access to state-of-the-art scientific equipment helped to propel graduate, Mandy (Bristol '04) Swanson to a successful career. To this day, the labs continue to be upgraded and students benefit from hundreds of thousands of dollars of new equipment! Thu, 14 Jul 2016 12:30:00 CDT 590ad827-7aac-4b9c-ab71-f72e41db0c17 GC Students Secure Competitive Science Research Internships http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-students-secure-competitive-science-research-internships Learn about Greenville students who were awarded coveted internships with some of the world's leading research entities in physics and quantum engineering. Thu, 14 Jul 2016 10:30:00 CDT 90d86f98-3f94-4362-841e-7cda28030d93 George Peters Named Outstanding Faculty Member at 2016 Commencement http://www.greenville.edu/news/george-peters-named-outstanding-faculty-member-at-2016-commencement Associate Professor of Mathematics George Peters ’92 accepted the Outstanding Faculty Award at GC's 2016 Commencement ceremony May 21. Thu, 30 Jun 2016 09:15:00 CDT 7bf6c080-9871-4f63-8d36-f9b39ba6e9ea Quantum Leap http://www.greenville.edu/news/quantum-leap-curiosity-fuels-discovery-on-three-continents-for-student-researcher Curiosity fueled discovery on three continents for recent graduate Shuto Osawa. From his home in Northern Japan to GC to Vienna and now Boston, Osawa's scholarship knows no bounds. Wed, 29 Jun 2016 06:00:00 CDT 7af78669-fbf3-4a92-9205-6620d59b9f44 Elle Shaw Claims Top Honors at Commencement http://www.greenville.edu/news/elle-shaw-claims-top-honors-at-commencement At the Greenville College 2016 Commencement ceremony on May 21, graduating senior Elle Shaw received the President's Citation award. Wed, 22 Jun 2016 13:45:00 CDT 158df015-8a5f-479f-93ec-b48a83cb1c66 Embracing God's Calling http://www.greenville.edu/news/embracing-god-s-calling Greenville College’s vision is to inspire students to embrace God’s calling for their lives. Through her liberal arts education at GC, senior Kayla Hyde knows exactly what her career calling is: research. Tue, 07 Jun 2016 14:00:00 CDT 829e46f5-f3aa-49a0-9cc2-bb3ec02086b9 GC Commencement http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-commencement A recap of the Greenville College 2016 Commencement. Tue, 07 Jun 2016 12:15:00 CDT 52621eb1-7030-405e-9e1b-af4f80bf277f Lest We Forget: New Grad Jogs Memories for Buchheit Stores http://www.greenville.edu/news/lest-we-forget-new-gc-grad-jogs-memor A girl who throws tomahawks, a fire that levels a five-story building and the threat of amnesia all weave their way into Katie Schmierbach's story of how she recently landed a job. Thu, 26 May 2016 07:30:00 CDT fab3f860-7b9e-4ce3-a7cf-a09cd2dc7180 2016 Greenville College Commencement Schedule and Speakers http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-announces-2016-commencement-schedule-and-speakers The 2016 Greenville College Commencement activities will begin on Friday, May 20 with the Ivy Cutting Ceremony at 6:15 p.m., followed by the Baccalaureate Ceremony at 7:30 p.m. Thu, 19 May 2016 08:00:00 CDT f4fc35c1-52ca-48b9-9819-f8ab53a4e1cf GC Jazz Band Concert on Tuesday, May 10th http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-jazz-band-performance-on-tuesday-may-10th The GC Jazz Band’s final on-campus performance is Tuesday, May 10th at 7 pm in the Whitlock Music Center. Mon, 09 May 2016 10:00:00 CDT 6d49da79-839a-4571-b078-2f8f735b4f72 Sixth Annual Mother’s Day Concert on Sunday, May 8, 2016 at 4 pm http://www.greenville.edu/news/sixth-annual-mother-s-day-concert-on-sunday-may-8-2016-at-4-pm The Greenville College Concert Band will present its sixth annual Mother’s Day Concert on Sunday, May 8, 2016 at 4 pm in the Whitlock Music Center, Fri, 06 May 2016 12:00:00 CDT 18a68e8c-a6d7-4346-b7e1-d434bb937613 It Never Hurts To Ask: One Question Lands Dream Internship http://www.greenville.edu/news/it-never-hurts-to-ask-one-question-lands-dream-internship Music business major Emily Kaiser landed her dream internship job with a popular band simply by walking up and asking for it. Fri, 29 Apr 2016 10:45:00 CDT 76f4fdd1-ceed-4111-80e4-7954327bc72b St. Louis Blues Score Big as Job Shadow Hosts http://www.greenville.edu/news/st-louis-blues-score-big-as-job-shadow-hosts When the St. Louis Blues take to the ice for the next round of the Stanley Cup playoffs, at least one fan on the Greenville College campus can say he knows firsthand what it takes for the winning NHL franchise to produce a game. Fri, 29 Apr 2016 09:00:00 CDT e3960d30-00e3-4323-80da-4c6c1577f63b