Greenville College - Academics News http://www.greenville.edu/ News Partners In Profit: Students Learn, Nonprofits Benefit http://www.greenville.edu/news/partners-in-profit-students-learn-nonprofits-benefit A partnership between University students and artisans halfway across the world came about through a design class created by Professor Lisa Sharpe. Mon, 18 Jun 2018 09:30:00 CDT fd21156e-25e2-46a8-8c1d-5b7ea6ce5722 From Students To In-Demand Employees, Thanks To Experience First http://www.greenville.edu/news/from-student-to-in-demand-employee-thanks-to-experience-first In recent years, employers nationwide have reported searching for qualities beyond grades in college graduates. Greenville University developed the Experience First program precisely to nurture these employability skills. Thu, 07 Jun 2018 07:30:00 CDT c906334a-54f5-4c82-b7f4-00d3e4cfc95a Not Just a Gym: Career, Calling and The “Y” http://www.greenville.edu/news/not-just-a-gym-career-calling-and-the-y Could working for an exercise facility be considered a calling? It is for John Heater ’01, who has worked for the service-minded YMCA organization since he was 15. Tue, 05 Jun 2018 09:30:00 CDT aa289b7d-fb79-48ce-865c-86a9d0ba354f Homegrown Greenville Graduate Gives Back to Local Economy http://www.greenville.edu/news/homegrown-greenville-graduate-gives-back-to-local-economy Lincoln Siebert ’17 is an example of what can happen when a small town and a small university work together to unlock the potential of the next generation. Tue, 29 May 2018 09:30:00 CDT e31909fa-a777-48b0-983f-a32cb107ab1e Valuable Summer Opportunities for G.U. Philosophy Students http://www.greenville.edu/news/valuable-summer-opportunities-for-g-u-philosophy-students Two students majoring in philosophy within the Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry will embark on prestigious adventures this summer. Fri, 25 May 2018 08:15:00 CDT 94ca9b65-211f-49a6-941c-3eaa33333ed9 Jeff Wilson Receives 2018 Outstanding Faculty Award http://www.greenville.edu/news/jeff-wilson-receives-2018-outstanding-faculty-award At Commencement last Saturday, President Ivan Filby presented the W. Richard Stephens Outstanding Faculty Award to a surprised Jeff Wilson, longtime professor of music and director of choral programs at Greenville U. Wed, 16 May 2018 08:45:00 CDT 9cdeb4c2-9f3e-4967-8d83-880f63224ec8 Graduating Seniors Goodnight and Steele Honored http://www.greenville.edu/news/graduating-seniors-goodnight-and-steele-honored At last Saturday's Commencement, Greenville University celebrated excellence by awarding Laura Goodnight the newly established President’s Award for Character and Service, and Kellie Steele the President’s Citation. Wed, 16 May 2018 07:45:00 CDT 5b3653e5-0230-457e-825c-4b4f61e03fda Class of 2018 Makes History As First to Graduate From Greenville University http://www.greenville.edu/news/class-of-2018-makes-history-as-first-to-graduate-from-greenville-university The Class of 2018 made history May 12, when graduates in two services crossed the Commencement stage to receive congratulatory handshakes and diplomas. They are the first graduates to earn degrees from Greenville University, formerly Greenville College. Tue, 15 May 2018 09:00:00 CDT dab97674-fef6-456b-988e-2e80e743dd72 National Recognition Times Two for Senior Lindsay Burton http://www.greenville.edu/news/national-recognition-times-two-for-senior-lindsay-burton The National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA) has recognized senior Lindsay Burton as the recipient of its 2018 Heart of Courage Award. But that's not the only national recognition the future teacher has garnered . . . Mon, 07 May 2018 09:15:00 CDT d1f7d250-dd68-46ad-b519-a522e3502dd3 Student Takes Creative Route for Honors Thesis http://www.greenville.edu/news/student-takes-creative-route-for-honors-thesis Mandy Pennington ’18 took the creative route with her honors thesis: a song and poetry cycle exploring various emotional states. Thu, 03 May 2018 14:00:00 CDT 88f58d9d-c746-4770-b1dd-c4e369b3f2cb Forensics Conference Exceeds Expectations, Informs and Inspires http://www.greenville.edu/news/forensics-conference-exceeds-expectations-informs-and-inspires Hard science, psychology, decades of professional experience and a generous helping of engaging stories contributed to a successful forensics conference on Greenville University’s campus last weekend. Over 200 persons attended the event. Wed, 18 Apr 2018 09:15:00 CDT ee747911-f2c9-434e-8410-514dab242bcd Teamwork and Experience Help Vanwey Land Coveted Internship With St. Louis Cardinals http://www.greenville.edu/news/teamwork-and-experience-help-vanwey-land-coveted-internship-with-st-louis-cardinals Sport Management major Jake Vanwey approaches each workday at Busch Stadium with a grateful heart. Learn how his resume rose to the top of the pile and the unique support he received in the process. Thu, 05 Apr 2018 09:45:00 CDT f8c9c8ee-9039-4ed4-bf95-7b5b6b581ae5 Justice Ministry Pilgrimage Course Offered in May http://www.greenville.edu/news/justice-ministry-pilgrimage-course-offered-in-may Greenville University will offer a travel-based course, "Justice Ministry: The Gospel and the Politics of Race," featuring renowned Christian leader Lisa Sharon Harper. Students who have completed at least 90 college credits are eligible. The course begins in May. Mon, 19 Mar 2018 15:00:00 CDT 08daaf77-0f09-4c53-9d71-eb190c2c6862 Equipped for Seminary (and Life) at Greenville University http://www.greenville.edu/news/equipped-for-seminary-and-life-at-greenville-university The future is wide open for seminary student Maria Koppelberger ’14. But she credits her past—specifically lessons learned at Greenville University—for laying a successful foundation. Mon, 19 Mar 2018 10:30:00 CDT ae83ff0c-620a-4c2a-bc30-3e598dbc943c Greenville University Announces New Engineering Degree Program http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-university-announces-new-engineering-degree-program Greenville University is pleased to announce a new four-year degree program in engineering approved by the Higher Learning Commission. Wed, 14 Mar 2018 07:30:00 CDT c976b795-dee8-4c05-b559-43c1bf899e76 Greenville University Students to Exhibit at Art St. Louis http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-university-students-to-exhibit-at-art-st-louis Seniors Hannah Parkerson-Mayhall and Kyle Anderson are among select area artists to show their work March 2-29 at Varsity Art XXII. The annual invitational exhibition at Art Saint Louis showcases undergraduate and graduate talent. Mon, 05 Mar 2018 10:00:00 CST 492b48b8-86af-46bb-a3e7-b8fdc86c3cfa How to Thrive, Not Just Survive the Seminary Scene http://www.greenville.edu/news/how-to-thrive-not-just-survive-the-seminary-scene How should a student prepare for graduate school? What makes the difference between surviving and thriving? Chris Albin '14 says students can proactively set the stage for success. Tue, 27 Feb 2018 08:15:00 CST 29311bfb-d595-44c1-918b-a69803afd9a7 Greenville University Well Water Testing http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-university-well-water-testing The Greenville University Science Division is running a well-water water testing project. It will involve faculty and student researchers testing water samples for the presence of specific metals, microbes, and other drinking water contaminants. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 10:00:00 CST 47c8b118-166a-4b66-a2e8-09be72788759 The Tradition Continues: Duke Divinity School Awards Full Scholarship to Bastian School Grad http://www.greenville.edu/news/the-tradition-continues-duke-divinity-school-awards-full-scholarship-to-bastian-school-grad Any financial award that reduces tuition is welcome, but one that covers the “full cost” of tuition can’t be beat. Greenville University graduate Keli (Totton ’16) Pennington will begin studies at Duke Divinity School in the fall on a "full ride" scholarship. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 09:45:00 CST 6257340d-daad-44b4-9e57-fd46dff753ab Navigating Seminary, Fueled By Blessing http://www.greenville.edu/news/navigating-seminary-fueled-by-blessing New beginnings can be rough, and new beginnings at graduate school and seminary are no different. But when recent G.U. graduate LaRyssa Herrington looks back on her first semester at Candler School of Theology, she sees a trail of blessings. Mon, 19 Feb 2018 08:15:00 CST ec6e0aa3-0894-4107-9408-5f9faee14587 Interterm in Israel Redefines "Classroom" http://www.greenville.edu/news/interterm-in-israel-redefines-classroom Students made Israel their classroom during January, exploring geography, archeology and Biblical texts in Jerusalem, Galilee, Caesarea and other sites of Bible history. Fri, 26 Jan 2018 06:30:00 CST ef9b2587-5ba9-4e5d-9ffc-82180a69cb73 Stick It Out: Service Through Struggle http://www.greenville.edu/news/stick-it-out-service-through-struggle In a challenging new role, Kirsten Norsworthy Freeze '17 draws strength from lessons learned at Greenville University. Tue, 12 Dec 2017 14:15:00 CST e55147e4-0854-4a17-9db2-191cdb7a18ba Water Quality Researchers Earn Top Honors For Presentation http://www.greenville.edu/news/water-quality-researchers-earn-top-honors-for-presentation Students researching the quality of water in Bond County recently claimed top honors for presentation of their work at a meeting of the American Chemistry Society. Tue, 31 Oct 2017 12:00:00 CDT c6edf484-aa27-49e2-9401-bc35521c0dbb Discovery in the U.K. Holds Deep Personal Meaning For Greenville Professor http://www.greenville.edu/news/discovery-in-the-u-k-holds-deep-personal-meaning-for-greenville-professor An unexpected discovery in a stranger's home added untold meaning to Bwarenaba Kautu's work at Cambridge University this summer. Tue, 17 Oct 2017 04:30:00 CDT c2ac6c07-147c-4e24-957c-f90d83707452 19 Years Coaching and Still Learning for the Girls http://www.greenville.edu/news/19-years-coaching-and-still-learning-for-the-girls With 19 years of coaching behind her, Carol Fletcher found even more to learn through the University's MA in coaching. Mon, 16 Oct 2017 09:00:00 CDT b011b775-93c8-4318-b2cf-f84e2a6597f8 Practice Makes Proficient: Learning to Teach http://www.greenville.edu/news/practice-makes-proficient-learning-to-teach When it comes to being a teacher, some skills only come through practice. Andy Mulholland ’15 thanks Greenville University for giving him ample practice. Thu, 12 Oct 2017 09:30:00 CDT e6bb190b-aa64-4195-9a07-b333b143cab5 Just Out, the RECORD Reimagines "University" http://www.greenville.edu/news/just-out-the-record-reimagines-university Just out, the Fall 2017 RECORD examines the path from college to career. Learn what today's students at Greenville University are doing to gain valuable experience before they graduate. Mon, 09 Oct 2017 10:15:00 CDT 02f96955-b4e1-4293-90da-f9388051c90b Social Work Program On Track For Accreditation http://www.greenville.edu/news/social-work-program-on-track-for-accreditation Greenville University’s social work program remains on track to achieve accreditation from the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), meaning big benefits for the program’s graduates. Tue, 19 Sep 2017 11:30:00 CDT 032e345a-93fe-4cd7-a617-a38de6307481 A Trio of “Wins” For University STEM Programs http://www.greenville.edu/news/a-trio-of-wins-for-university-stem-programs An infusion of ambitious students, new faculty and a track record of excellent performance position STEM departments for a fantastic year. Tue, 19 Sep 2017 11:00:00 CDT 678a12e9-cc32-4462-9d45-5893a49cd01f Summer STEM Adventures http://www.greenville.edu/news/summer-stem-adventures Greenville University recently completed its eighth successful summer of student research in the sciences. Tue, 19 Sep 2017 10:30:00 CDT eca740ab-975a-48bc-8a8a-10107b47ffd9 Preseason Learning: August Term Takes Freshmen From “Rookie” to “Seasoned” http://www.greenville.edu/news/preseason-learning-august-term-takes-freshmen-from-rookie-to-seasoned This summer, Greenville University launched a pilot program that offers incentives to students who want to overcome educational gaps and succeed at college life. Mon, 18 Sep 2017 15:45:00 CDT 0568c72b-f0a4-49d7-9e8f-14ed83c6f9ac The Exhilaration of "Team" http://www.greenville.edu/news/the-exhilaration-of-team 1944 marked the beginning of intercollegiate athletic competition in Greenville. Ever since, student athletes have made surprising discoveries both on and off the playing field. Here are two tales that began with football. Thu, 10 Aug 2017 13:00:00 CDT a1d3f27b-4863-46e4-a002-df66ccbe79e7 Euca Balm and Tour Logistics: The Chemistry Behind Those College Degrees http://www.greenville.edu/news/euca-balm-and-tour-logistics-the-chemistry-behind-those-college-degrees From the Great Depression to just last semester, hands-on learning is a hallmark of the Greenville University experience. Check out what happens when experience is the teacher. Thu, 03 Aug 2017 13:45:00 CDT 6dce7714-3373-4a11-8771-1b71782a3a6d A Lesson in Adventure Brought to You By Sally http://www.greenville.edu/news/a-lesson-in-adventure-brought-to-you-by-sally On first glance, Fei “Sally” Li ’16 doesn’t appear adventuresome, but looks can be deceiving. Her bold move to study 7,000 miles from home opened the door to exploration at every turn. Thu, 27 Jul 2017 08:30:00 CDT f9731109-44f8-48a1-bd6f-3bb37ecf1f4d Four Years. Two Degrees. A World of Opportunities. http://www.greenville.edu/news/four-years-two-degrees-a-world-of-opportunities Greenville University will soon offer a speedy path to business degrees for students from China. Mon, 24 Jul 2017 09:15:00 CDT 0c9ad253-5725-4242-af13-779a55604ee2