News - Women’s Basketball Obtains Several SLIAC All-Conference Honors

Women’s Basketball Obtains Several SLIAC All-Conference Honors

Women’s Basketball Obtains Several SLIAC All-Conference Honors

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) has announced the 2011 women's basketball all-conference teams and award winners. Making the list for Greenville were sophomores Katelyn Wise and Laura Hobbie and senior Linda Morris. GC also received the conferences sportsmanship award.

Center Katelyn Wise, who ranked in the top 20 in the SLIAC in scoring (10.3 ppg) and rebounding (4.9 rpg) was named to the second team all-conference squad. Wise battled injuries throughout the year and, despite missing time due to injury, received the award.


Joining Wise as a SLIAC award recipient was guard Laura Hobbie. Hobbie earned honorable mention all-conference for her season efforts, headlined by her 9.3 points per contest and a .368 three-point shooting percentage.

Rounding out the individual awards for the Lady Panthers was senior forward Linda Morris. Morris, a second year transfer, was named to both the all-defensive team and all-sportsmanship team. Morris averaged 1.7 steals per game and used her quickness and length to cause problems throughout conference play.

Greenville College also received the sportsmanship award for the fourth time since the award's inception in 2005-06.

The complete list of the all-conference teams and awards are as follows.

Sierra Shipley (Blackburn)

Lindsay Sydness (Principia)

Kelly Harrod (Spalding)

Katy Meyer (Webster)

Rachel Backes (Westminster (Mo.)


Caty Eeten (Eureka)

Rana Boyd (Fontbonne)

Katelyn Wise (Greenville)

Beth Jamison (Spalding)

Kenna Cornelson (Westminster (Mo.)

Calli Collier (Fontbonne)

Chelsea Freymuth (Fontbonne)

Laura Hobbie (Greenville)

Sarah Corbitt (Principia)

Maggie Zehner (Webster)


Linda Morris (Greenville)
Sarah Corbitt (Principia)

Lindsay Sydness (Principia)

Beth Jamison (Spalding)

Heather Letourneau (Westminster (Mo.)


Andrea Kleinsorge (Blackburn)

Khassandrae Brown (Eureka)

Madison Fischer (Fontbonne)

Linda Morris (Greenville)

Kelsey Anderson (MacMurray)

Lindsay Sydness (Principia)

Megan Davis (Spalding)

Megan Willett (Webster)

Laci Luff (Westminster (Mo.)


This story was published on February 24, 2011

comments powered by Disqus
315 E. College Avenue
Greenville, Illinois 62246-1145
800.345.4440 / 618.664.7100
Contact Us © 2000-18 Greenville University. All rights reserved.
Greenville University is authorized to operate as a postsecondary educational institution by the Illinois Board of Higher Education
Accreditation | IBHE Complaint Form