Greenville College - Academics News http://www.greenville.edu/ News Water Quality Researchers Earn Top Honors For Presentation http://www.greenville.edu/news/water-quality-researchers-earn-top-honors-for-presentation Students researching the quality of water in Bond County recently claimed top honors for presentation of their work at a meeting of the American Chemistry Society. Tue, 31 Oct 2017 12:00:00 CDT c6edf484-aa27-49e2-9401-bc35521c0dbb Discovery in the U.K. Holds Deep Personal Meaning For Greenville Professor http://www.greenville.edu/news/discovery-in-the-u-k-holds-deep-personal-meaning-for-greenville-professor An unexpected discovery in a stranger's home added untold meaning to Bwarenaba Kautu's work at Cambridge University this summer. Tue, 17 Oct 2017 04:30:00 CDT c2ac6c07-147c-4e24-957c-f90d83707452 19 Years Coaching and Still Learning for the Girls http://www.greenville.edu/news/19-years-coaching-and-still-learning-for-the-girls With 19 years of coaching behind her, Carol Fletcher found even more to learn through the University's MA in coaching. Mon, 16 Oct 2017 09:00:00 CDT b011b775-93c8-4318-b2cf-f84e2a6597f8 Practice Makes Proficient: Learning to Teach http://www.greenville.edu/news/practice-makes-proficient-learning-to-teach When it comes to being a teacher, some skills only come through practice. Andy Mulholland ’15 thanks Greenville University for giving him ample practice. Thu, 12 Oct 2017 09:30:00 CDT e6bb190b-aa64-4195-9a07-b333b143cab5 Just Out, the RECORD Reimagines "University" http://www.greenville.edu/news/just-out-the-record-reimagines-university Just out, the Fall 2017 RECORD examines the path from college to career. Learn what today's students at Greenville University are doing to gain valuable experience before they graduate. Mon, 09 Oct 2017 10:15:00 CDT 02f96955-b4e1-4293-90da-f9388051c90b Social Work Program On Track For Accreditation http://www.greenville.edu/news/social-work-program-on-track-for-accreditation Greenville University’s social work program remains on track to achieve accreditation from the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), meaning big benefits for the program’s graduates. Tue, 19 Sep 2017 11:30:00 CDT 032e345a-93fe-4cd7-a617-a38de6307481 A Trio of “Wins” For University STEM Programs http://www.greenville.edu/news/a-trio-of-wins-for-university-stem-programs An infusion of ambitious students, new faculty and a track record of excellent performance position STEM departments for a fantastic year. Tue, 19 Sep 2017 11:00:00 CDT 678a12e9-cc32-4462-9d45-5893a49cd01f Summer STEM Adventures http://www.greenville.edu/news/summer-stem-adventures Greenville University recently completed its eighth successful summer of student research in the sciences. Tue, 19 Sep 2017 10:30:00 CDT eca740ab-975a-48bc-8a8a-10107b47ffd9 Preseason Learning: August Term Takes Freshmen From “Rookie” to “Seasoned” http://www.greenville.edu/news/preseason-learning-august-term-takes-freshmen-from-rookie-to-seasoned This summer, Greenville University launched a pilot program that offers incentives to students who want to overcome educational gaps and succeed at college life. Mon, 18 Sep 2017 15:45:00 CDT 0568c72b-f0a4-49d7-9e8f-14ed83c6f9ac The Exhilaration of "Team" http://www.greenville.edu/news/the-exhilaration-of-team 1944 marked the beginning of intercollegiate athletic competition in Greenville. Ever since, student athletes have made surprising discoveries both on and off the playing field. Here are two tales that began with football. Thu, 10 Aug 2017 13:00:00 CDT a1d3f27b-4863-46e4-a002-df66ccbe79e7 Euca Balm and Tour Logistics: The Chemistry Behind Those College Degrees http://www.greenville.edu/news/euca-balm-and-tour-logistics-the-chemistry-behind-those-college-degrees From the Great Depression to just last semester, hands-on learning is a hallmark of the Greenville University experience. Check out what happens when experience is the teacher. Thu, 03 Aug 2017 13:45:00 CDT 6dce7714-3373-4a11-8771-1b71782a3a6d A Lesson in Adventure Brought to You By Sally http://www.greenville.edu/news/a-lesson-in-adventure-brought-to-you-by-sally On first glance, Fei “Sally” Li ’16 doesn’t appear adventuresome, but looks can be deceiving. Her bold move to study 7,000 miles from home opened the door to exploration at every turn. Thu, 27 Jul 2017 08:30:00 CDT f9731109-44f8-48a1-bd6f-3bb37ecf1f4d Four Years. Two Degrees. A World of Opportunities. http://www.greenville.edu/news/four-years-two-degrees-a-world-of-opportunities Greenville University will soon offer a speedy path to business degrees for students from China. Mon, 24 Jul 2017 09:15:00 CDT 0c9ad253-5725-4242-af13-779a55604ee2 Crash Course in Confidence Brought to You By Experience First http://www.greenville.edu/news/crash-course-in-confidence-courtesy-of-experience-first What do you get when you cross a phone-phobic college student with a semester-long project that requires dozens of phone calls to vendors across North America? If you are Lincoln Siebert ’17, you get skills that bolster your confidence and help you secure a job. Thu, 08 Jun 2017 07:30:00 CDT db5fa8f0-4bc9-4ed7-a05b-b3350c33e99b Class of 2017 Makes History as Last to Graduate From GC, Now Greenville University http://www.greenville.edu/news/class-of-2017-makes-history-as-last-to-graduate-from-gc-soon-to-be-greenville-university The class of 2017 made history May 27, 2017, when graduates crossed the Commencement stage to receive congratulatory handshakes and diplomas. They are the last graduates to earn degrees from Greenville College. Effective June 1, Greenville College will become Greenville University. Wed, 07 Jun 2017 08:30:00 CDT 151867b8-d84a-49e1-b2fc-ad77b6e2306e Publish, Publish, Present, Present - Well Equipped Grad Finds His Stride http://www.greenville.edu/news/publish-publish-present-present-well-equipped-grad-finds-his-stride Kirk Pearce ’15 recently published papers in two scientific journals and will present at two upcoming conferences for theoretical chemists. The PhD candidate at Virginia Tech has much to say about the preparation he received in the classroom and on the football field at GC. Tue, 16 May 2017 10:00:00 CDT c3949997-d91c-4777-baff-11b9f26b9bff Alumnus Hopkins Brings Fresh Material To Tried-And-True Text http://www.greenville.edu/news/alumnus-hopkins-brings-fresh-material-to-tried-and-true-text Kevin Hopkins ’83, mathematics professor and chair of the math department at Southwest Baptist University, has contributed to the newly released Thomas’ Calculus: Early Transcendentals 14th Edition (Pearson, 2017). Mon, 01 May 2017 08:00:00 CDT 67cb2cf6-a7cd-4d84-83ed-8ca7f7ffc67d Student-Produced VISTA Accepts Several Awards http://www.greenville.edu/news/student-produced-vista-accepts-several-awards Several major awards for the fall 2016 issue of the student-produced Vista magazine highlight the strong design curriculum at Greenville College and hint at the promising future of design and student publications in general at the College. Mon, 24 Apr 2017 08:15:00 CDT 46dd2c6f-d20f-4d9a-9995-831370124d6d GC Faculty Assume Lead Roles at Annual Wesleyan Conference http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-faculty-assume-lead-roles-at-annual-wesleyan-conference On March 2-4, faculty members of the Donald N. and Kathleen G. Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry contributed to the Wesleyan Theological Society's annual conference at Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky. Tue, 18 Apr 2017 08:00:00 CDT 758c55ab-a49c-45fd-a375-4516dc59c9d3 Students' Discovery Draws Interest From International Scientific Community http://www.greenville.edu/news/students-discovery-draws-interest-from-international-scientific-community Student researchers have discovered a potential key to relief for sufferers of neurological disorders. Their work has drawn international attention, including recent publication of their research in The Journal of Experimental Neuroscience. Thu, 13 Apr 2017 10:00:00 CDT 881d6c76-88b7-4fae-8dc7-2e90ea13f828 College’s Creative Hub Expands With Opening Of Center For Visual Culture http://www.greenville.edu/news/college-s-creative-hub-expands-with-opening-of-center-for-visual-culture Creativity and collaboration at Greenville College have a new home on campus with the official opening of the Center for Visual Culture and Media Studies (CVCMS). Guests at the ribbon cutting ceremony March 28 toured the refurbished work and office spaces in the Kaufmann Building on College Avenue. Wed, 05 Apr 2017 08:00:00 CDT c14e655f-2eae-4444-832c-0c91d5eaece7 Media and Theology Mix it Up on Campus http://www.greenville.edu/news/media-and-theology-mix-it-up-on-campus Faculty from the Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry at Greenville College recently teamed up with faculty from the College’s Media Communication Department to present an engaging interdisciplinary approach to theology. Wed, 29 Mar 2017 08:00:00 CDT 00339b09-b87c-4182-bd95-ad82cd439444 Booklover Lands Job Reading for a Living http://www.greenville.edu/news/booklover-lands-job-reading-for-a-living “Reading books for a living? If that ever becomes a job, I’ll do it!” Kortney Price ’14 remembers thinking as an undergraduate. Three years after graduation, Kortney got her wish. Thu, 23 Mar 2017 07:00:00 CDT 052ac51c-dfad-4414-a6cb-decb9c80cf98 Wayman Publishes Article for Lenten Study http://www.greenville.edu/news/wayman-publishes-article-for-lenten-study Ben Wayman ’02 assistant professor of philosophy and theology in the Bastian School of Theology, Philosophy, and Ministry and this year’s Andrews Fellow in Christian Unity, has authored an article that is featured in the spring curriculum quarterly Illustrated Bible Life Tue, 14 Mar 2017 08:15:00 CDT 42d50632-e8f7-4d6d-9c0e-3111a5a9ac29 One-Year MBA Program Adds to International Growth at GC http://www.greenville.edu/news/one-year-mba-program-adds-to-international-growth-at-gc Students in GC’s new one-year residential MBA program are among the international students on campus this semester. Read more to learn the surprising impact they may have on your cognitive skills. Mon, 06 Mar 2017 09:45:00 CST c2f752cf-4409-4b61-95fd-9b3d86aa3fca Jesus, Master, Teacher, and the MBA http://www.greenville.edu/news/jesus-master-teacher-and-the-mba Enrollment is at a historic high in GC’s graduate management programs where faith and career mix. Tue, 28 Feb 2017 09:00:00 CST 66b4afea-9df6-42e4-8aa6-87c64622604a Greenville College Welcomes New Faculty Members http://www.greenville.edu/news/greenville-college-welcomes-new-faculty-members Greenville College is pleased to introduce four new faculty members hired in recent months! Tue, 21 Feb 2017 08:30:00 CST bd72a117-d295-43a1-8bc8-0ed2fbf969b2 Satisfied Businesses Turn to GC’s “Experience First” Program Again http://www.greenville.edu/news/satisfied-businesses-turn-to-gc-s-experience-first-program-again Following a stellar launch in fall 2016, the Experience First initiative spearheaded by the Briner School of Business offers a new batch of students the chance to gain real-world experience and networking during second semester. Thu, 09 Feb 2017 09:00:00 CST 472e44d2-68ef-4cfd-879d-54b864cec3ae National Assessment Reflects Solid Preparation for Future Teachers http://www.greenville.edu/news/national-assessment-reflects-solid-preparation-for-future-teachers The credentials and employability of GC students preparing to be teachers have received a boost with a new state requirement. Their performance testifies to GC's strong teacher education program. Tue, 07 Feb 2017 09:00:00 CST e9af4fc6-c39d-4e98-b00a-ae40ba318d75 From Spielberg to Skiing: Innovative Learning at Interterm http://www.greenville.edu/news/from-spielberg-to-skiing-innovative-learning-at-interterm Here’s a sampling of Interterm 2017’s most unusual and exciting classes. Tue, 24 Jan 2017 19:30:00 CST c6e7624d-e759-4134-9c39-1b53a4b6c597 Future Teachers Benefit from GC's Stretch http://www.greenville.edu/news/future-teachers-benefit-from-gcs-stretch For more than a century, GC has thoroughly prepared teachers for service in the classroom. Here are five new ways that future teachers can benefit from the School of Education's extended reach. Tue, 10 Jan 2017 15:15:00 CST 110f1756-b1a9-4449-a60d-482364e4daf3 Federal Agency Donates Lab Instruments to GC Sciences http://www.greenville.edu/news/federal-agency-donates-lab-instruments-to-gc-sciences The U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration’s Chicago lab has donated scientific instruments valued at $300,000 to Greenville College for use in its science labs. Thu, 05 Jan 2017 06:30:00 CST 35ab8482-a317-4f6a-ad8e-9dfeacd57574 GC Teaching Character Plus http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-teaching-character-plus Character education programs have been springing up in schools around the country in recent years. Learn how GC is leading this effort! Tue, 03 Jan 2017 02:00:00 CST b6705c2a-417a-4124-8649-d47e5cbaf565 Students Exceed Expectations Putting Experience First http://www.greenville.edu/news/students-exceed-expectations-putting-experience-first Students went above and beyond earlier this month when they wrapped up their work for the inaugural session of Experience First at Greenville College. The students' showing gave Dean Suzanne Davis good reason for calling it "the best day ever" of her professional career. Mon, 19 Dec 2016 16:30:00 CST 77b7fc1c-3de1-43d5-9af6-92375e163d55 GC Announces “Experience First” Educational Initiative http://www.greenville.edu/news/gc-announces-experience-first-educational-initiative This fall, Greenville College introduced the Experience First educational initiative to bring real-world problem solving into the classroom. Mon, 12 Dec 2016 12:30:00 CST 7dd1c642-c28b-4607-8147-cccf4f625cce