News - SLIAC Announces Fall All-Sportsmanship Teams

SLIAC Announces Fall All-Sportsmanship Teams

SLIAC Announces Fall All-Sportsmanship Teams

ST. LOUIS -- The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference has announced the All-Sportsmanship Team for the Conference's four Fall sports.  The All-Sportsmanship Team was one of three new awards approved during the Conference's Fall meetings to recognize one of the fundamental principles of the Conference.  Five Greenville College student-athletes were selected for this award.  They included John Spencer, men's cross country; Michelle Sutton, women's cross country; Jenna Marcotte, volleyball; Matt Cowman, men's soccer; and Rachel Irwin, women's soccer.

The All-Sportsmanship Team, which in the future will be announced with each sports' All-Conference Team, will include one individual from each school that sponsors the sport.  Coaches and student-athletes will select one member of their team who, throughout the season, best displays the ideals of sportsmanship that include fairness, civility, honesty, unselfishness, respect, and responsibility.

The other new sportsmanship awards are the "SLIAC Sportsmanship Award" and the "'Exemplary' Sportsmanship Award."  The SLIAC Sportsmanship Award will be presented to the institution that receives the highest combined point total in the voting of the Sportsmanship Awards currently presented in each of the Conference's 12 sports.  That award is selected by the coaches and student-athletes and presented to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship.

The 'Exemplary' Sportsmanship Award is a special award presented as the Conference deems appropriate.  This Award will be reserved for those singular acts of sportsmanship by student-athletes, coaches, fans or administrators that stand well above and beyond normal conduct.

2010 Fall All-Sportsmanship Teams

Men's Cross Country
Blackburn:  Paul Kline
Dallas:   William Gibula
Eureka:  Jon Hegelson
Fontbonne: Zac Kassman
Greenville:  John Spencer
Principia:  Derrick Fleming
Spalding:  Zachary Michael
Webster:  Alex Schoenstein
Westminster:  Victor Stichnot

Women's Cross Country
Blackburn: Amanda Orzechowski
Dallas:  Heather Capozella
Eureka:  Meghan Campbell
Fontbonne: Rachel Hanson
Greenville:  Michelle Sutton
Principia:  Emily Osborne
Spalding:  Samantha Cave
Webster: Stephanie Schmoele
Westminster:  Sarah Koestner

Blackburn:  Ashley Miller
Eureka: Marisa Durley
Fontbonne:  Anna Hibler
Greenville:  Jenna Marcotte
MacMurray:  Rikki Jenkins
Principia:  Catherine Speer
Spalding:  Kirsten Snyder
Webster:  Elizabeth Linck
Westminster:  Courtney Darkow

Men's Soccer
Blackburn:  Bryan Lambdin
Eureka:  Kyle Oyer
Fontbonne:  Daniel Lourie
Greenville:  Matt Cowman
MacMurray: Dennis Jones
Principia:  Will Bisbee
Spalding:  Arthur Ace
Webster: Mike Politte
Westminster:  JP Thompson

Women's Soccer
Blackburn:  Tara Allen
Eureka: Katie McGlaughlin
Fontbonne:  Casey Hermann
Greenville:  Rachel Irwin
MacMurray:  Jamie Junge
Principia:   Lauren Wienecke
Spalding:  Heather Stillwell
Webster: Kristen Muehlenfeld
Westminster: Meaghan Barron

This story was published on December 12, 2010

comments powered by Disqus
315 E. College Avenue
Greenville, Illinois 62246-1145
800.345.4440 / 618.664.7100
Contact Us © 2000-18 Greenville University. All rights reserved.
Greenville University is authorized to operate as a postsecondary educational institution by the Illinois Board of Higher Education
Accreditation | IBHE Complaint Form