News - Hilliard, Brown Take Home SLIAC Men’s Basketball Individual Honors

Hilliard, Brown Take Home SLIAC Men’s Basketball Individual Honors

Hilliard, Brown Take Home SLIAC Men’s Basketball Individual Honors


ST. Louis, Mo. – The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) has announced the 2011-12 All-Conference Men's Basketball Team and special award winners. Seniors KJ Hilliard and Markeith Brown claimed second-team hardware for the Panthers.

Hilliard, a senior guard from Belleville, Ill., played in 19 games for the Panthers in 2012. Hilliard was forced to overcome a string of early season injuries and managed to post 13.1 points and 5.2 boards per game in SLIAC play and earned his second consecutive post-season conference award (‘10-‘11, ‘11-’12).

Senior guard/forward combo Brown finished his GC career on high note garnering second-team All-SLIAC honors. Brown came off the bench to lead the Panthers in scoring with 13.6 points per game, and amassed over four rebounds per game in conference play.

Aside from the individual earnings, the Greenville College men’s basketball squad received the Sportsmanship Award for the fifth consecutive year. The team Sportsmanship Award is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship.

Webster University's Stefan Whittingham was tabbed the SLIAC Player of the Year, while head coach Chris Bunch earned Coach of the Year honors. MacMurray College's Clayton Whitlock was also named the SLIAC Newcomer of the Year

The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals for sportsmanship. The 2011-12 All-Sportsmanship Team includes Jon Lowry (Blackburn), Rian Nailor (Eureka), Yada Demisse (Fontbonne), Jose Garcia (Greenville), Luke Bishop (MacMurray), Matt Jones (Principia), Thomas Blakemore (Spalding), Jarrod Huskey (Webster) and Kelsey Weymuth (Westminster).

The 2011-12 All-SLIAC Teams are as follows:



Dustin Fritsch, Eureka (Jr., Forward)

Mark Lessen, Eureka (Jr., Center)

Jametrius Brasher, Spalding (Jr., Forward)

Roman Robinson, Webster (Jr., Forward)

Stefan Whittingham, Webster (So., Forward)



Julian Lott, Blackburn (Sr., Guard)

Markeith Brown, Greenville (Sr., Guard)

KJ Hilliard, Greenville (Sr., Guard)

Clayton Whitlock, MacMurray (Fr., Center)

Joe Prophet, Westminster (Jr., Guard)



Jordan Kindred, Eureka (Jr., Guard)

Clint Lee, MacMurray (Sr., Guard)

Brady Slagle, MacMurray (So., Forward)

Cody Bradfisch, Webster (Jr., Guard)

Verdis Lee, Jr., Westminster (Fr., Guard)



Mark Lessen, Eureka (Jr., Center)

Cody Best, MacMurray (Jr., Guard)

Thomas Blakemore, Spalding (So., Guard)

Jametrius Brasher, Spalding (Jr., Forward)

Hollis Edwards, Webster (So., Guard)


This story was published on February 24, 2012

comments powered by Disqus
315 E. College Avenue
Greenville, Illinois 62246-1145
800.345.4440 / 618.664.7100
Contact Us © 2000-18 Greenville University. All rights reserved.
Greenville University is authorized to operate as a postsecondary educational institution by the Illinois Board of Higher Education
Accreditation | IBHE Complaint Form